#9 Bobcats Put Three on Daktronics All-Region, Dewald Named Pitcher of the Year

#9 Bobcats Put Three on Daktronics All-Region, Dewald Named Pitcher of the Year

MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. – The No. 9 Georgia College & State University baseball team (37-15) placed three players on the 2010 Daktronics All-Southeast Region teams, with righthanded starter Martin Dewald (Mannheim, Germany) adding Region Pitcher of the Year honors.

Dewald joined outfielder Sean Harrell (Martinez, Ga.) on the first team, while catcher Richard Pirkle (Norcross, Ga.) nabbed a second-team nod.

The ace of the Bobcat pitching staff, Dewald has gotten even stronger in the post-season, owning a 10-2 mark with a 3.90 ERA and 100 strikeouts over 94 2/3 innings. Dewald was named first team all-region by Daktronics as a relief pitcher in 2009.

Dewald’s region pitcher of the year honor is the first for Georgia College in the brief history of the Daktronics program, and the first Region Pitcher of the Year honor for a Bobcat pitcher since Matt Goyen took home American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) honors in 2005.

Harrell is the second outfielder to earn a spot on the Daktronics All-Southeast First Team, after Justin Mills did it in 2007. Harrell is hitting .461 with 76 runs, 11 home runs and 53 RBI. He also posted a .735 slugging percentage and .539 on-base percentage. Both Dewald and Harrell will move on to the All-America ballot, where Mills was also the lone Daktronics All-American in school history in 2007.

Pirkle earned second-team honors with a .355 batting average, 53 runs, 14 home runs and 56 RBI. He has also slugged an impressive .717. Pete Paris was the school’s only other all-region catcher honoree from Daktronics, picking up second team in 2007.

The Daktronics honors are voted on and maintained by the region's sports information directors. In the four years of the program, Georgia College has had 11 players on the all-region squad.

The two first-team selections are the most among any Peach Belt Conference (PBC) school this season. The three overall choices ties both Francis Marion University and North Georgia for honorees.

The Bobcats are back in action tonight in day three of the NCAA Southeast Region Tournament, taking on No. 2-seed and No. 4-ranked Columbus State University at 7 p.m.

The GCSU Department of Athletics, winners of the 2008-09 PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Georgia College prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the Bobcats' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at Twitter.com username GCSUSID for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCSUBobcats.com to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GCSU Athletics Hall of Fame.

First Team Second Team
C- Sean Cotten, Tusculum C- Richard Pirkle, GCSU
1B- Jason Rogers, Columbus St. 1B- Jared Richmond, Tusculum
2B- Chas Anthony, Erskine 2B- Payden Houser, Tusculum
3B- Craige Lyerly, Catawba 3B- Jordan Erisman, North Georgia
SS- Barrett Kleinknecht, Francis Marion SS- Mills Rodgers, Carson-Newman
OF- Bryan Fogle, Erskine

OF- Bobby Leaper, Mount Olive

OF- Sean Harrell, GCSU OF- Wade Moore, Catawba
OF- Mike Kitt, Mars Hill OF- Nate Grabowski, Tusculum
UT- Jeremy Nowak, Mount Olive UT- J. J. Loker, USC Aiken
  UT- Cameron Scott, Armstrong Atlantic
DH- Nick Aranas, USC Aiken DH- Sean Finucane, Tusculum
SP- Martin Dewald, GCSU SP- Chris Rearick, North Georgia
SP- William Buzhardt, Erskine SP- Don Sandifer, Francis Marion
SP- Jackson Massey, Mount Olive SP- Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
SP- Carter Capps, Mount Olive SP- Tyler Collins, Tusculum
RP- Atlee Pearson, Erskine RP- Tony Hearall, Mars Hill
  RP- Brandon Forshee, Francis Marion
  RP- Luke Wilhelm, Pfeiffer
  RP- Wade Dudley, Columbus St.
  RP- Jacob Rickett, North Georgia
Region Player of the Year Region Pitcher of the Year
Bryan Fogle, Erskine Martin Dewald, GCSU