Bobcat Athletics Puts 119 Student-Athletes on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Rising senior infielder Eric Furphy
Rising senior infielder Eric Furphy


AUGUSTA, Ga. – The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) announced its Presidential Honor Roll recipients, with 119 Georgia College student-athletes making the list. The program honors all student-athletes with a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the 2017-18 academic year.

For the 11th season, the PBC divided the group into four levels by GPA, as all students between 3.00 and 3.24 are Presidential Scholars, 3.25 to 3.49 are Bronze Scholars, 3.50 to 3.74 are Silver Scholars and 3.75 to 4.00 are Gold Scholars.

This year also marks just the sixth time the total number of Bobcat honorees has eclipsed the century mark. The Bobcats averaged 10.7 members of the list per each of their 11 varsity sports. The 1,474 honorees gives the Peach Belt nine-straight years with over 1,000 members on the list.

Bobcat Baseball had the most with 21 student-athletes on the list. Soccer was second with 18. Third in overall student-athletes listed was softball with 17 rostered players making the grade. Women's Cross Country posted the impressive feat of putting their entire roster on the list. Men's Cross Country owns the top ratio for a men's squad, as they put 12 of their 14 student-athletes on, good for 86 percent. Georgia College had 39 Gold Scholars, 26 Silver Scholars, 26 Bronze Scholars and 28 Presidential Scholars.

A list of the scholars follows, separated by sport:

Baseball [21] – Gold Scholars: Brandt Stallings, Eric Furphy, Bradley Spinner; Silver Scholars: Matt Studdard, Logan Mattix, Nate Schmal, Austin Holloway, Harrison Veldsma; Bronze Scholars: Garrett Green, Logan Hicks, Colin LoCurto, Tristen Thompson, Cassius Young; Presidential Scholars: Brendan Holler, Tarez Miller, Wesley Wommack, Charlie Hecht, Brooks Luther, Perry Keith, Caleb Slaughter, Kyle King

Women's Basketball [9] – Gold Scholars: Margaret Metz; Silver Scholars: Landry Rushing, Delayne Rotolo; Bronze Scholars: Dakota Williamson, Sydney Cleveland, Kenyatta Storms; Presidential Scholars: Dionna Hartfield, Keyonna Wesley, Dail Adaway.

Men's Basketball [6] – Gold Scholars: Matthew Quint, Chapin Rierson; Bronze Scholars: Isaac Thomas, Chandler Wright, Ryan Dobbs; Presidential Scholars: Matt McCorkle.

Women's Cross Country [16] – Gold Scholars: Sarah McGowan, Sarah Wilder, Rebecca Winslow, Anna Tipton, Amanda Wright, Rachel Boulineau, Maddy Howe, Kaitlyn Griffith; Silver Scholars: Grace Lynch, Tessa Allen, Brittney Schwind, Sydney Brown, Madison Bowers; Bronze Scholars: Katherine Yost, Jaylin Lucier; Presidential Scholars: Michaela Davis.

Men's Cross Country [12] – Gold Scholars: Brennan Silliman, Collin Silliman, Brian Skoglind, Daniel Sexton, Conner Reynolds, Shawn Olmstead; Bronze Scholars: Andrew Cowick, James Galvin; Presidential Scholars: George Dyer, Matt Patterson, Austin Campbell, Wilson Moore.

Golf [4] – Silver Scholars: Justin Connelly; Bronze Scholars: Daniel Davis; Presidential Scholars: Matty Hines, Jake Minchew.

Soccer [18] – Gold Scholars: Ashlee Graham, Becca Morris, Ragnheidur Bjarnadottir, Kai Jeffries, Sophia Bonser, Emily Petersen; Silver Scholars: Maddie Stephen, Sarah Miller; Bronze Scholars: Savanna DeValle, Sofia Lekas, Anya Mancinelli, Renee Mike, Cassie Balzano, Hannah Asbell; Presidential Scholars: Cheyanne Rentsch, Amanda Bartholomew, Unnbjorg Omarsdottir, Erin Ferris.

Softball [17] – Gold Scholars: Sarah Couch, Amber Coy, Caitlyn Davis, Rebecca Lawrence, Hannah Coursey, Holland Coursey, Nicole Humphries, Jessie Morris, Danielle Rubin; Silver Scholars: Haley Howell, Caroline Snider, Jolie Bush, Baylee Hall; Bronze Scholars: Jessica Hayles, Shawnda Martin; Presidential Scholars: Kayla Price, Lindley Bruce.

Women's Tennis [4] – Gold Scholars: Jena Kelly; Silver Scholars: Kristen Jones, Emma Niemi; Bronze Scholars: Emilia Richter.

Men's Tennis [4] – Gold Scholars: Noah Wallace, Robin Moller; Silver Scholars: Gabriel Caron, Jannik Kumbier.

Volleyball [8] – Gold Scholars: Libby Bochniak; Silver Scholars: Kayla Brockway, Taylor Svehla, Emily Pope; Bronze Scholars: Chandler Ewaldsen; Presidential Scholars: Lauren Swift, Nicole Cohen, Emma Boughner.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup and the 2017 PBC Sportsmanship Institution of the Year, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at @GCBobcats on Twitter and Facebook for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit to purchase photo prints from home athletic contests.