GC Golf Ready for South/Southeast Regional Play for Nationals Berth

Regional play begins Monday morning
Regional play begins Monday morning

by Mark Jagord, sports information assistant

SAVANNAH, Ga.  – The Georgia College's golf team will vie for one of seven spots to the Nationals Monday through Wednesday May 5-7 at the Savannah Quarters Country Club Golf Course in Pooler, Ga. The Bobcats are hoping to capitalize on their momentum having finished first and second in their last two outings, respectively. 

The Bobcats have now been selected to the South/Southeast Regionals for an impressive 17th-consecutive year, with the string beginning in 1998. During that span, Georgia College has emerged as the South/Southeast Region Champion twice last winning it in 2012. 

The Bobcats finished second in their last competition, the 2014 Peach Belt Conference (PBC) Tournament. Prior to that, Georgia College won the Bearcat Classic Invitation Tournament hosted by Lander University. 

"I'm excited about this year's tournament," said Bobcats' head coach Jimmy Wilson. "If we take care of business, we should be Okay." 

The actual seeding slots determine the team's tee-off times with Georgia College set to go at 8:20 a.m. Monday and 12:50 p.m. Tuesday. The Bobcats will start from the first tee Monday and the 10th tee Tuesday. Wednesday's tee information is determined by the previous days results. 

The South and Southeast regions will account for seven berths, the most of the four geographic regions. The West and South Central regions will account for six berths. The Midwest and Central regions will advance four teams, while the Atlantic and East regions will receive three berths. 

The Bobcats will compete in arguably the toughest groupings, where the Southeast and South regions account for more than half of the top-25 teams in the country. Last year's national champion and runner-up both came from the field the Bobcats will be competing against. 

Joining Georgia College in the Southeast Region are USC Aiken, , Columbus State University, Flagler College, Clayton State University, Queens University, Erskine, Limestone College, Carson-Newman and host of the tournament Armstrong Atlantic State University. 

Coupled with the Southeast Region for the seven berths at stake for the Nationals is the South Region. Teams selected from the South include: Barry University, Lynn University, Nova Southeastern University, University of West Florida, University of North Alabama, Saint Leo University, Florida Institute of Technology, Rollins College, Florida Southern College and Delta State University. 

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at @GCBobcats on Twitter and Facebook for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit GCBobcats.PhotoReflect.com to purchase photo prints from home athletic contests.