Peach Belt Announces All-Tournament Team

Peach Belt Announces All-Tournament Team

by Tyler Peck, sports information graduate assistant

EVANS, Ga. - The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) announced its PBC All-Tournament Team on Nov. 9. The team consisted of 14 players from the eight PBC teams that made the playoffs.

Freshman Megan McAlpin (Newnan, Ga.) and junior Kara Teresi (Tampa, Fla.) of Georgia College & State University were selected to the distinguished honor. McAlpin and Teresi both scored goals in the game against Lander University Nov. 4 in the first round of the PBC Tournament. McAlpin was one of only two freshmen to receive an All-Tournament accolade.

North Georgia's Natalie Douglas, Laura Dickson of USC Aiken, Clayton State University's Bose Tanimola and Lander's Kelley Maupin also made the All-Conference Team. In addition Armstrong Atlantic State University's Kelli Bahr and Jamie Craine received honors as well. UNC Pembroke and Columbus State University both had three players make the team. Lauren Townsend, Whitney Beverly and Melanie Cobb were from UNC Pembroke. Columbus State's Stephanie Parrish, Kate Walton and Kim Gaughan also made the team.

Be sure to catch the Bobcats next contest as they play Catawba College in the NCAA Tournament First Round in Columbus, Ga. Nov. 14 at 7 p.m. You can follow all the action on 88.9 WGUR or on the internet at

The GCSU Department of Athletics sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, GCSU prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the Bobcats' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Follow the Bobcats and their positive impact on the Milledgeville community at