Bobcat Athletics Puts School-Record 144 Student-Athletes on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Senior Grace Lynch
Senior Grace Lynch

AUGUSTA, Ga. – The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) announced its Presidential Honor Roll recipients, with 144 Georgia College student-athletes making the list, a school record. The previous high was 136, set in 2015-16. The program honors all student-athletes with a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the 2018-19 academic year.

For the 12th season, the PBC divided the group into four levels by GPA, as all students between 3.00 and 3.24 are Presidential Scholars, 3.25 to 3.49 are Bronze Scholars, 3.50 to 3.74 are Silver Scholars and 3.75 to 4.00 are Gold Scholars.

This year also marks just the seventh time the total number of Bobcat honorees has eclipsed the century mark. The Bobcats averaged 10.7 members of the list per each of their 11 varsity sports. The 1,474 honorees gives the Peach Belt nine-straight years with over 1,000 members on the list.

Bobcat Baseball had the most with 31 student-athletes on the list. Soccer was second with 21. Third in overall student-athletes listed was softball with 18 rostered players making the grade. Women's Cross Country posted the impressive feat of putting 93 percent of their entire roster on the list. Softball also boasts a 90 percent success rate. Men's Tennis owns the top ratio for a men's squad, as they put nine of their 11 student-athletes on, good for 82 percent. Georgia College had 50 Gold Scholars, 31 Silver Scholars, 31 Bronze Scholars and 32 Presidential Scholars.

A list of the scholars follows, separated by sport:

Baseball [31] – Gold Scholars: Matthew Chester, Brad Spinner, Noah Mendlinger, Shane Connahan, Bryce Bowen, Eric Furphy; Silver Scholars: Harrison Veldsma, KC Brown, Forrest Wilson, Garrett Green; Bronze Scholars: Logan Hicks, Baylin Moore, Colin LoCurto, Chandler Amason, Perry Keith, Matt Studdard, Ashton Sturgell, Kyle King, Luc Scudellari, Connor Wilson, Jacob Hester, Trevor Evans; Presidential Scholars: Jay Saunders, Wesley Wommack, Cassius Young, Brooks Luther, Brian DeCarlo, Austin Holloway, Chris Rolick, Kyler Pelfrey, Mitchell Sutton.

Women's Basketball [14] – Silver Scholars: Harper Vick, Joslyn Reyes, Dakota Williamson; Bronze Scholars: Dionna Hartfield, Cassidy Markle, Sydney Cleveland, Kenyatta Storms, Jasmine McSwain, Dail Adaway, Erin Drynan; Presidential Scholars: Macey Carson, Keyonna Wesley, Ashley Davis, DeLayne Rotolo.

Men's Basketball [9] – Gold Scholars: Wesley Simpson, Chapin Rierson; Silver Scholars: Matthew Quint, Austin Deckard; Bronze Scholars: Isaac Thomas, Jordan Sterling; Presidential Scholars: Justin Cave, Jordan Thomas, Chandler Wright.

Women's Cross Country [13] – Gold Scholars: Tessa Allen, Madison Bowers, Sydney Brown, Grace Lynch, Sarah Mae McGowan, Sarah Wilder, Amanda Wright, Anna Tipton, Rachel Boulineau; Silver Scholars: Maddy Howe, Kaitlyn Griffith, Michaela Davis; Presidential Scholars: Jaylin Lucier.

Men's Cross Country [7] – Gold Scholars: Brennan Silliman, Shawn Olmstead; Silver Scholars: Collin Silliman, Thomas Hall; Bronze Scholars: Quillian Holland; Presidential Scholars: Lance Underwood, Austin Campbell.

Golf [7] – Gold Scholars: Jake Minchew, JT Kling; Silver Scholars: Michael Zachary; Bronze Scholars: Drew Duffie, Daniel Davis; Presidential Scholars: Mati Chiappero, Isaac Samples.

Soccer [21] – Gold Scholars: Lydia Atkinson, Kai Jeffries, Kayla Ruiz, Megan Wilson, Unnbjorg Omarsdottir, Sophia Bonser, Camyrn Davis, Madi Diaz Granados; Silver Scholars: Savanna DeValle, Brooke Adams, Sofia Lekas, Becca Morris, Hannah Asbell, Ashlee Graham, Alyssa Bergamini, Anya Mancinelli; Bronze Scholars: Bailee Munnerlyn; Presidential Scholars: Ryann Smith, Erin Ferris, Alexis Bergamini, Renee Mike.

Softball [18] – Gold Scholars: Jessie Barre, Rebecca Lawrence, Jessie Morris, Kayla Price, Hannah Rogers, Danielle Rubin, Haley Howell, Caroline Snider, Sarah Couch, Darby Pinkard; Silver Scholars: Amber Coy, Carlie Behan; Bronze Scholars: Nicole Humphries, Ariel Edenfield, Lindsey Puckett; Presidential Scholars: MacKenzie Michels, Skyler Welford, Ellen Stone.

Women's Tennis [5] – Gold Scholars: Jordan Bowie, Emma Fleming; Silver Scholars: Emilia Richter; Bronze Scholars: Kim Yatribi; Presidential Scholars: Paula Garriga.

Men's Tennis [9] – Gold Scholars: Gabriel Caron, Robin Möller, Noah Wallace, Jannik Kumbier, Ben Grunert; Silver Scholars: Matt Rogel; Bronze Scholars: Nathan Connelly; Presidential Scholars: Cole Heller, Colton Phillips.

Volleyball [9] – Gold Scholars: Libby Bochniak, Lauren Talele, Kayla Brockway; Silver Scholars: Taylor Svehla, Nicole Cohen, Morgan Overly, Bentley Earnest; Bronze Scholars: Emily Pope; Presidential Scholars: Emily Sweatman.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner Cup and the 2017 PBC Sportsmanship Institution of the Year, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at @GCBobcats on Twitter and Facebook for up- to-the- minute reports, and visit to purchase photo prints from home athletic contests.